High Altitude Cookies


toaster ovenWhile visiting my newborn granddaughter (and her parents, of course) in India, I attempted to make some chocolate chip cookies for the gazing guests coming to welcome the wee one. I was not prepared for the results of my favorite recipe when using a toaster oven at 7000 ft. altitude!


Urmilla

I even had my own sous-chef who chopped up the chocolate bar into pieces. The recipe
was a favorite using coconut oil for the shortening. I had made a batch right before I left home that disappeared. At least two things were not considered when I started my project.

The oven and the altitude!

temperature settingThe oven was just a toaster oven, not a full-sized oven as I was accustomed to using and the temperature was in Celsius. I didn’t know how to convert or what number to use for 350 degrees.

The altitude definitely effected the outcome! And, the ingredients were a bit different. The granulated sugar was finer, the brown sugar was darker and the coconut oil was richer. Why did I think they would come out the same???

cookie doughThe dough looked regular but the end results were not. cookiesEveryone said they tasted delicious but I didn’t like the presentation. Eating is all about presentation, right? You eat with your eyes first. The cookies seemed to boil when they were baking. They certainly didn’t stay in a nice cookie shape but “melted” all over. Some parts of the cookies got very thin and almost lacey. Hmmm, maybe a new kind of cookie? NO. They were ugly.

Send me high altitude/toaster oven cookie recipes, please.

I will be in India for about two more weeks and would like to leave some really good cookies in the freezer. If you know of a sure-fire, “make ya slap yo mama” recipe, I’d love to have it.

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in World Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts

