The New Toy


Creativity abounds with vita-mix magic.Who knew that an investigative visit to Costco would bring about a nutritious adoption? The sale wasn’t hard.  I’ve gone through at least a dozen blenders in my time. The Vita-Mix, commercial grade, was declared indestructible (if used according to instructions).

I did give the idea an overnight thinking…. and asked my facebook friends (the ultimate source of knowledge and wisdom?) if anyone owned and operated this “investment.” After a resounding affirmation from my comment corner, I returned the next day and joined Costco so that I could buy the magic machine for a great discount (compared to the online price). My new membership also afforded me the opportunity to buy in bulk and at great prices the ingredients I needed.

The First Drink: A Green Smoothie

  • green grapes- enough to cover the blades
  • pineapple- half of a one-inch slice-core and washed peel included (the core and peel contain many vital nutrients)
  • fresh baby spinach-large handful
  • pitted dates-about 4, for sweetness (pits are the pits, don’t use)
  • ice cubes-about 1 cup

Add all in order given. Turn to smoothie setting. Turn on. This new 6500 model is an “automatic” not “stick shift” so it runs a pre-set time and speed and stops when ready!

Do you have this wonder machine? What is your favorite recipe? What are your baseline necessities to have on hand?

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in Journal Entry, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The New Toy

  1. Pingback: When the world gives you chicken, have biology class. | A Dollop and A Pinch

  2. Pingback: “Pink Month” Slaw | A Dollop and A Pinch

  3. Pingback: Roasted Garlic Soup via Vitamixer | A Dollop and A Pinch

  4. pamasaurus says:

    It’s so fancy! Enjoy it!

    I haven’t owned a blender in yeaaars, other than an immersion blender. Mine broke (the cup was glass, and I dropped it, oops) and I never replaced it :/

  5. I can’t wait to stock up on various kitchen gadgets when we finish our travels and have a permanent address again!! Enjoy your new toy 🙂

  6. Tanya says:

    Wow…how cool! We had one of the original Vita-Mix blenders when I was a kid. Saw it demonstrated at our fair and mom just had to have one. They had one drink recipe that included beets and liver with some other vegetables and fruits and ended up tasting like a chocolate shake. We loved making our drinks…and during the last couple of years of my dad’s life he was on a liquid diet so the Vita-Mix made it possible for him to have a nutritious meal (long before Insure). I just might have to get one of the newer models.

  7. Jane Ferguson says:

    Dea,
    Glad to see your post today….enjoy your new toy….I still miss you and Baron York…..
    Jane Ferguson

Please share your thoughts

