National What?


broiling cheese and bacon sandwichHow could I have missed National Grilled Cheese Sandwich Day on April 12? Did you have your grilled cheese?

You may notice that this sandwich is broiling not grilling. Well, if you miss THE DAY then why not change the sandwich.

Over a light spread of mayonnaise, real bacon bits and shredded cheddar was added. After broiling until the cheese melted, tomato slices and fresh baby spinach were added. A Day Late but cheesy good.

Do you have a favorite National ___ Day? grilled cheese tomato spinach baconWho thinks up these anyway? Hey, why not declare your own National Day! Name it, claim it, share it and we can all join in. If you can’t think of one, April 13 is National Peach Cobbler Day and April 14 is National Pecan Day. National Glazed Spiral Ham Day is April 15 followed by National Eggs Benedict Day and Day of the Mushroom on the 16th.

So, what’s your National Day? Let us join you in celebrating.

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to National What?

  1. Reblogged this on Justification by Grace and commented:
    How could I not reblog this one from my friend, Dea Irby (actually we’ve only become acquainted through Michael Stelzner’s Social Media Network). Dea begins her blog article with, “How could I have missed National Grilled Cheese Sandwich Day…” I mean, no kidding, right? I missed it too, which was April 12th…. AND I LOVE grilled cheese sandwiches. Always have… since I was a little guy, no more than knee high to a married grasshopper. If you’re not familiar with Dea’s blog or website, you need to get over there. She’s got some excellent recipes, as well as an uplifting story of the “a dining experience, not just food,” on her website, thebaronyork.com. Dea is an author, restaurateur, and entrepreneur. One of these days Lisa and I will have to get out to The Baron York in Clarksville, Georgia (I think you have to take the last train to get there, viz a vis, instructions from The Monkeys). Thanks, Dea. Honestly, how could I not eat at The Baron York… it sounds like a place that Charles Spurgeon would frequent with his wife.

  2. pamasaurus says:

    August 24th is National Waffle Day. I’m pretty excited for this, haha. I love waffles! I used to have a calendar years ago that had a crazy national ___ day listed on each day. I loved it!

Please share your thoughts

