Is it true?….and a roll-up


rollup with eggplant dip spreadI have recently heard from a couple of different sources, “How you do anything is how you do everything.” Is it true? I recycle recreate food. The eggplant parmesan dip was not totally consumed and was begging to be out of the ‘frig. So I used it as a spread in a roll-up. If the quote is true, do I recycle recreate in everything I do? Or, is the thing I do….”save leftovers” … and that’s why my garage AND basement look like they do? Or, is the thing I do…”be spontaneous/be inspired in the moment”… and that’s why planning is hard for me, who knows what surprises await me?

I often don’t know what I am cooking in the kitchen until I’m finished. It gets created along the way. It’s more adventurous that way. But there are plenty of people who must have a recipe and they follow it closely. Is that how they approach the rest of life? Life must be predictable, planned out, a well-traveled road. Could it be said that who you are in the kitchen is who you are in life? Is that what the quote is saying? Is this true? Do you agree?

Oh, and here’s how I made the roll-up (this time….I don’t follow my own recipes!)eggplant dip spread on roll up with beef

flour tortilla, eggplant dip, shredded cheddar (next time I’ll probably use mozzarella instead), browned ground beef (with purple onions), romaine lettuce, diced tomatoes and a bit of Ranch dressing to “juice it up.” (Do I always want to “juice things up?”)

So, what do you think? Is who you are in the kitchen a picture of who you are in life? What kind of cook are you? What kind of life do you live?

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Is it true?….and a roll-up

  1. Spontaneous at times, a planner at others…rather like I am in life!

  2. I’ve come to the point in my life where I enjoy being an engaging dining companion more than stressing myself out in the kitchen — truly not my most worthy or enjoyable skills. So when reading your blog today, I’m thinking more about who the chef is at the table versus who they are in the kitchen…. The same person who whips up the most divine concoction that can make my heart both melt and sing at the same time can truly give me bad indigestion when they sit down with me to dine, spoiling my whole meal. I think it’s the difference in caring more about and empathizing more with ingredients and things and perfection than caring about guests. You, Miss Dea, are obviously both a great chef and an engaging table companion. I envy your gift to do both so well.

  3. I like to be in charge and have total control of what’s going on in the kitchen, telling everyone what to do. Me? Peel potatoes? Ha! I almost ALWAYS change a recipe. Scary accurate!

  4. pamasaurus says:

    I don’t think I’m the same as I am in the kitchen!

    In the kitchen, I’m very much in the ‘just throw this and this together to see how it goes’ crowd. I usually don’t measure (except baking and such where it really should be measured). I throw in extra ingredients at the last minute. I barely ever follow a recipe. I’m crazy in the kitchen, haha.

    In other parts of my life, I’m less crazy. I have an anxiety disorder, so doing anything is scary to me! I need definite plans. I need structure. I need directions. I can’t just throw life together and see how it goes, no matter how bad I wish I could!

    Your wrap sounds amazing, by the way. I haven’t had breakfast, and it’s making me uber hungry!

Please share your thoughts

