Pantry Raid #20: Pita Pepperoni Sandwich


pita sandwich with pepperoniA precious, dear friend came over to help organize my garage which is stuffed to the brim with “left-overs” (equipment, not food) from moving out of the cafe. We took a lunch break and I needed to create something tasty and quick. On hand, I had some pita bread, pesto sauce, a few pepperoni slices, romaine lettuce, shredded cheddar, tomato and (ever present) Ranch salad dressing.

How to prepare:

Sear both sides of the pita in olive oil in a non-stick pan. (you can also fry the pepperoni slices to cook them and release their oil to flavor the pita bread) When the bread is browed on one side and almost browned on the other side, turn off heat but don’t remove pan (if you can work quickly enough so the cheese will melt but the bread won’t burn) Spread pesto all over the browned side. Sprinkle shredded cheese on top. Then top with pepperoni, lettuce, tomato and dressing. Fold in half then cut in half and enjoy. (I could have gotten a better picture but we had worked so hard we couldn’t wait for a long photo shoot!)

full garage of stuff

Want to see what we were working with? And this in only a fraction of it. The whole garage is full with many more shelves.

Hopefully, we found some things that will sell online on the two county facebook online garage sale.

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in Pantry Raid, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pantry Raid #20: Pita Pepperoni Sandwich

  1. Sounds Great Dea! I finally remembered to sign up here today so I don’t have to jump through hoops to get here! LOVE the Cookbook too. 😀

  2. Jarrad says:

    What a great snack … I love the things you can whip together out of the things in the pantry

    • deairby says:

      throwing things together is the best way to cook, I think! Often I’ve been asked, “What’s for supper?” and my response is usually, “I don’t know yet, I’m not done!”

  3. That looks delicious…and good for a hot day, too!

Please share your thoughts

