Don’t Assume It’s a Telemarketer


baronyorktelephoneDuring my years at The Baron York Tea Room, because it was housed in the historic building where the Standard Telephone first brought the modern invention to the North Georgia mountains, I used a replica of an old dial phone. (After using my cell phone for about a year.) In our local paper, I shared an experience I had and would like to re-share with you.

Never assume caller is a telemarketer

To the editor:

I realize that there are people who need to make a living by working for telemarketing companies. But, it is frustrating to get telemarketing calls or sales calls at your busiest times -dinner time, walking out the door time- and I’ve learned a trick to avoid the disturbances.

If there is a silent pause after answering the phone it is probably a computer-generated call. After the second of silence, I hang up,. Also if there is a background noise of many voices also making calls, I hang up before the caller speaks.

After almost a year, I finally got a land line at the Baron York , ironically the location of the first telephone in the area and the beginning of the modern phone company. I was excited when it rang for the first time…until I found out it was a sales person. The second ring….a sales person. They seemed to call at the busiest time..the lunch crunch!

But, never assume that a “radio or TV voice” is a slaesperson. Today, Oct. 28, 2004, I answered the phone, “Baron York.”

“May I speak with the owner, ” said the smooth, rich voice.

In my frustration I responded, “This is a cafe and lunch time is a very busy time to call.” I was satisfied that I had put that unthinking salesperson in his place. Until…meekly he replied, “Well, I guess I’ll place my order somewhere else.”

I ended my letter to the editor:

If you are that person who called, I’m sorry. My rotarty dial phone doesn’t do *69.

Hoping for forgiveness.

Dea Irby, owner

The Baron York

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in Journal Entry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Don’t Assume It’s a Telemarketer

  1. This post demonstrates a recipe for humble pie 🙂 Oh those moments we wish we could rewind and re-do. Thanks for sharing this one.

  2. Oh dear, but I generally agree anyway. I will often put the kids on the phone and let the kids chat away to them until the kid or the salesperson gets bored.

Please share your thoughts

