A MILLION DOLLAR$ $!$!$


Katherine Roberts in AfricaI have recently been challenged to think “money is not for getting things, it is for changing things.” (Suzanne Evans). The next step in this new thinking is to decide what change to make. If I had a million dollars where would I make a difference? Again, I am not faced with the dilemma of not having an answer but of having too many answers! No, the choices aren’t which 3rd world country would I help educate, clothe, or feed, which seems to be the popular thing to do. I’m thinking outside the box (slightly influenced by the fact that right now two of my eight children are living in other countries while two others have also lived over seas.)

1) How cool would it be if there were a “family transportationAdeline Faith Irby fund” for grandmothers to get to be with newborns or families could fly home for special events. Yes, there is now skype and facebook to stay connected but neither can offer the touch of a kiss and a hug. (yes, that’s my Addy!, grandbaby eight)

Seth in concert India2) Then in a totally different direction, I dream of building a top of the line production studio that records music and video that can change the world. My uber talented friends, Randy and Mackenzie Chester, have more creative juices flowing than Niagra falls has water! Funds are limited for them. My oldest daughter has written four musicals that have been produced in many churches that need sound tracks. My other seven children write and perform original songs which have been recorded in various places at various prices. (photo: Seth in concert in Southern India)

3) What if I could sponsor the coffee house in Bosnia that myPeople drinking coffee son has opened to meet and dialog with students? Monies came in for the first year, but after that? Then it would be awesome if “start-up” money could be given to others reaching out to young people on foreign soil or the homeland. Things would change if these meeting places were empowering the future leaders of the world. Just imagine a string of coffee houses brewing impact makers ….

book cover Meeting Miss Irby4) How about a publishing house that prints world changing books! Very often  (I almost want to say, everyday, but don’t want to exaggerate) I meet people with a message that needs to be “out there.” My son, Josh, has written a book in Bosnia (in English with a Bosnian translation, also) that has been on the top ten list there and will soon be available on Amazon. The book tells the story of a distant relative of ours who 150 years ago also came to Bosnia and changed their world! She is a national hero. Wish I could have helped with the publication.

5) And, yes, I do know about an opportunity to feed, clothe and Katherine Robertseducate in 3rd world Zambia in a little village where Katherine Roberts, a friend of mine, felt called to go. No mission board is backing her, just her faith. And can I say, God is blessing her beyond all she could ask or think!!

Gabe in football uniform6) Short mission trips are life changing whether it is around the corner or around the world. My son, Gabe is going with Chi Rho, his Christian Men’s Accapella group from Wake Forest University, to Africa in a few months. My daughter and her youth group are doing inner-city ministry for a week in Atlanta with Gap Ministries this summer. What a privilege to help mobilize these change makers. (Gabe also plays football. Just sayin’)

Now all these things are just what I thought about the first few hours I was pondering the question of “what change could I make in the world if I had a million dollars to invest?” How would you answer that? Think outside the box! DREAM…

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in Journal Entry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A MILLION DOLLAR$ $!$!$

  1. jasonwiser says:

    Yeah to missions! Congrats to kids and their commitment to ministering to others around the world. Blessings…

Please share your thoughts

