Braised Babbage?


braised cabbage

I have decided that birthing my eight children was a piece of cake next to “birthing” a cookbook. Stress and frustration literally brought me to tears sometimes. I paid an editor to proof before the first run, then another person to proof before the second run. And, I looked at each and every word, or so I thought. Every time more things were found that needed to be fixed. Fixing was no simple matter either. I had to get in touch with my graphic artist who had to make the changes in her professional program on her computer. Then time and again, those changes caused other problems that needed to be fixed. Then after re-proofing to make sure the new mistakes were fixed I was for sure it was finally perfect! The file was sent to the printer.

While talking with someone about my Titanic dinners, I looked up the menu under the special events in the cookbook. Some of the courses are pure French and look confusing. However, my stomach knotted, my mouth went dry and my head began to pound when I saw the course served with “braised babbage.” AAaaaarrrrrgggghhhhh. I could just imagine someone searching a French dictionary to find out what babbage is!

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in Journal Entry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Braised Babbage?

  1. Well done you on such a wonderful achievement! Am going through something similar right now – all rather stressful!

Please share your thoughts

