Pantry Raid #16: Whole Wheat Gnocchi


whole wheat gnocchi in tomato sauceTonight’s invention WILL be shared but not recommended. If anyone out there can “fix” this dish, please share. Well, to be honest it was voted 2 for and 1 against. I had bought some whole wheat gnocchi with sweet potato filling with only a thought of what to do with it. I had planned to make a pumpkin soup as the base but, alas, the can of pumpkin must have been only a figment of my imagination. The instructions called for “your favorite sauce” but I didn’t have any in the pantry or time to fix it. But, I did have a can of diced tomatoes. With my immersion blender, I pureed the tomatoes, added Italian seasoning, salt, 1 Tablespoon of minced garlic,  and about 3 oz of creamed cheese and heated. Then some grated parmesan tomato soup with gnocchicheese was mixed in. Now it was ready to add the cooked (according to directions) gnocchi. Served with parmesan on top.

Now I will say that the one who didn’t like the dish is not often willing to experiment and the other two did have seconds. I still want to make it with pumpkin soup with a dollop of sour cream on top, perhaps.

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in Pantry Raid, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pantry Raid #16: Whole Wheat Gnocchi

  1. Michelle says:

    I would think the pumpkin would be better as a thinner sauce with sage. I would think the tomato would be too heavy with the potato and the sweet potato……I also like a white wine, butter and sage with the sweet potato and gnocchi…

Please share your thoughts

