Pantry Raid #10: Black Bean Burgers


chopped peppers on black bean burger mix

 

Working my way through boxes of papers from who knows when, I came across a hand-scribbled note on a torn paper with a restaurant’s famous black bean burger recipe. The waitress was so nice to share their specialty item and it only took me five years to try it! And, I got to use my immersion blender!

 

 

With just a few adjustments, here is the recipe:

1 large can of black beans. slightly drained

1 cup bread crumbs

1 egg

1 Tablespoon minced garlic

1 small onion, dicedblack bean burger

1/2 green bell pepper, diced

2 Tablespoons cilantro flakes

1 teaspoon chili powder or more if desired

1 Tablespoon ground cumin

(a few slices of pickled jalapeno peppers for extra spice-since I STILL have some!)

Salt and pepper

Pour the beans into a big bowl and puree with immersion blender.  Add all the other ingredients and mix thoroughly. Form into patties and fry in butter. Serve with picante sauce and top it with a dollop of sour cream, if desired. I would have but I didn’t have any!

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in Pantry Raid, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pantry Raid #10: Black Bean Burgers

  1. Gorgeous – I often make lentil or chick pea “burgers” so look forward to trying these!

Please share your thoughts

