Pantry Raid #8: Prepping the pantry


baked chicken

Part of being able to do a “pantry raid” is having something in your pantry. Not only do dry goods fit under this category, according to my definition, but also frozen, fresh and refrigerated item. In order to stock my supply, I buy and prepare a large amount of meats. Boneless, skinless chicken breast, baked on low for 1 1/2 hours can then be refrigerated or diced and frozen in small quantities. This can then be used on a toss salad, in a casserole, on a sandwich or even in a soup without having to prepare the chicken for each dish saving time and dirty dishes.  The 3 lb package of ground beef can be browned with minced garlic and dicedground beef and onions onions with salt and a bit of olive oil. Packaged in small amounts, the meat is ready for quick tacos, for spaghetti sauce, soup, casserole or anything else in need of some crumbled beef. Again, this saves time and dishes when it’s time to create a meal.

As I strolled through the aisles of the grocery store, I looked for foods outside my “comfort zone,” things that I’ve never used or have no idea how to use. With a little research, this can create a sense of adventure in the kitchen.

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in Pantry Raid, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pantry Raid #8: Prepping the pantry

  1. Pingback: Pantry Raid #19: Lasagna | thebaronyork

  2. Pingback: Pantry Raid #17: Homemade Pizza | thebaronyork

  3. Pingback: Pantry Raid #13: Cheeseburger Omelet | thebaronyork

  4. Pingback: Pantry Raid #12: Loaded Baked Potato | thebaronyork

  5. Great idea and as I keep my two (yes, I have to have two) freezers in my pantry, I´m with you all the way!

Please share your thoughts

