Pantry Raid Recipes #3 Sauteed Kale and Kimchi


What is there to fix that’s healthier than the “fun” stuff I’ve been eating? Kale. How hearty and long-lasting! I bought a big bag of this green veggie weeks ago and have used it in many soups and still have some that is as fresh as ever. I had to throw away the unopened bag of baby spinach I bought just days ago. I’m thinking there’s a new purchasing habit about to develop. And, kale is so easy to prepare.

Here it is:

Heat a couple of Tablespoons of walnut oil (or whatever you have in the cabinet)

Put in as much kale (cleaned, de-stemmed and chopped) as desired and stir while sauteeing. Sprinkle in some water to help wilt it. Add salt. (I also would have added minced garlic if I had not used it up.) Continue stirring until soft.I added some Vegeta (European seasoning that’s like Mrs Dash or Herbamare) After the kale was ready I tossed in some fresh diced tomatoes and sprinkled Pomegranate Balsamic Vinegar over it. And then just because I had some, on the side I served some homemade kimchi which my son, Corban had made and brought.

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in Pantry Raid, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts

