40 Days of Soup: Day 30 – Roasted Butternut Squash and Carrot


At my book signing Saturday Ashley Patterson suggested I make a roasted butternut squash soup. Too bad I didn’t write down everything then or when I went to the grocery store. I forgot to buy a sweet potato when I got the squash, aaarrrgggghhhh. That’s how new recipes get created, right? Here’s what I came up with and the jury is still out about the seasonings.

Hey, if you think of a variation of this that you like, let me know.

1 butternut squash, de-seeded and cubed

5 carrots (because that’s how many I had), peeled and sliced

1 onion, quartered

3 Tablespoons walnut oil

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

salt and pepper, freshly ground

6 cups chicken broth (I used 6 cups water and 1/3 cup chicken bouillon powder)

Instructions:

Put all the veggies in a over-proof bowl/roasting pan. Pour oil onto them and add seasonings. Stir to coat. Put in 350 degree oven. Roast for 1 hour, stirring occasionally. Empty into soup pot and add broth. Mix. Either puree with your new immersion blender or  by thirds put into regular blender. Heat thoroughly. This might taste good served with crumbled feta cheese and a dash of cinnamon on top.

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in 40 Days of Soup, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts

