40 Days of Soup: Day 14- Pumpkin Soup


The day started (with the night before almost never ending) with 2 hours of sleep and helping a friend with a brunch (45 minutes away). With just an hour or so between getting home and leaving for the Holiday Market and errands, I pulled out an old favorite, Pumpkin Soup.

Ingredients:
1/4 cup butter
1 small onion, diced
1 clove garlic, diced
2 Tablespoons brown sugar (that’s the recipe but I like it a bit sweeter so I double it.)
1 can evaporated milk (I used the rest of the heavy whipping cream left from making the scones for the brunch. To get just a bit more, regular milk was poured into the carton and shaken.)
1 1/2 cups chicken or vegetable broth
1/2 cup water
Salt/pepper
1 (29 oz) can pumpkin (not pumpkin pie)
1/8 teaspoon cinnamon (or more)
Instructions
Melt butter. Add onion, garlic and sugar. Sauté low until soft.
Add broth, water and salt and pepper. Bring to boil. Add pumpkin
and simmer on low for 15 minutes. Add milk and cinnamon and
heat through. At this point I put it all in the crock pot on low and left AGAIN.
This can be blended to make smoother but I don’t. (my blender is broken but wouldn’t do it anyway.)

So when I got home from a wonderful time at the local holiday market where I sold many cookbooks and met really cool people, I could cozy up to a tasty, warm cup of soup. Hope you enjoy it, too.

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in 40 Days of Soup, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts

