Cookbook update #4:tea info and walking tour


Talked with John Chaffey from Metropolitan Tea in Ontario, Canada to verify my tea info.  Good thing.  First, I had misspelled Emperor Shen Nung’s name! (typo)  Everyone knows how to spell his name!  He discovered tea in 2737 BC!  Secondly, ice tea was created in America, but not (as I had been taught) in 1904 at the St. Louis World’s Fair.  Much earlier than that (like early 1800’s), somewhere in the south, sweet tea, called tea punch, was being enjoyed.

In other news….I decided if I wanted to describe a walking tour of Clarkesville I should go on a walking tour.  My timing was not the best, the sky was about to open up with much needed rain.  I did take photos to help jog my memory.  Walk with me starting at the south end of the historic district in front of Church and Son’s Funeral Home:

   

The Church and Son Funeral Home is one of the many businesses built by Cornelius Edward Church.  I strolled along the new, street-scaped sidewalk after crossing Morgan Street and came to the Head family home.  C E Church’s daughter married and lived here.  And, right next door is the original Church homestead built by the man, Church, himself.

          I was able to take pictures of photos hanging inside The Attic of what the gas station used to look like.  Pretty cool when compared to what it is today.  Many things change and some things don’t.  On select nights in the new outdoor seating at The Attic live music is played.  Church’s gas station had also been a gathering place on Friday nights as Cornelius often played his fiddle for friends to visit and often take care of business.

            Crossing into the next block brought me to the Habersham Community Theatre, housed in a building constructed as a movie theater in 1937.  Engraved, dedicated bricks mingled in the bricks of the sidewalk proclaim community support and involvement in HCT’s artistic endeavors in its permanent home since 1999.  Walking down the side of the block past one of the city flower beds brought me to North Georgia Performance Training Center.

   

And across Jefferson Street is the notable Mauldin Building and Gardens with three structures from the past: The Mauldin House, The Milinery, Big Holly Cabin.

           

         

The gardens and bricked pathways make this block an escape haven for residents and visitors alike.   The third building on this historic block in the middle of town is the The Mauldin House, currently the welcome center and office of Better Hometown.

             

After Sweetbreads, I went down East Waters Street to the end.  I took some pictures of the Greenway path then drove over to Old Clarkesville Mill (remember, it was about to gush from the sky.)  I took a picture of the path from the west side of the mill but drove up to Woods Furniture, the final destination of the tour.  Did you know that Woods is one of the oldest businesses in town? I hope you liked this little tour.  🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in Journal Entry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts

