WORLD TRIP DAY 39-Solo shopping and Karaoke


Cat’s away, the mouse will play!  Corban had classes and I was finally feeling comfortable enough about my surroundings to venture out on my own.  I didn’t have to be back until 6 or 7!  I walked and walked and walked.  I had considered taking a bus as practice for my final departure.  Corban had asked if I thought I could make it to the airport on my own.  (Corban, the guy who lives there and got us lost on the rails!!!)  I wasn’t ready yet.  I walked for about three hours completing a big circle, passing familiar stores and places.  I bought Corban a takoyaki cooker as a host thank you gift.  It may sound like it cooks “tacos” because that’s how you pronounce the first syllable but “tako” in Japanese means octopus!  They cook up into little hushpuppy-looking balls with octopus in the middle.  Yummm!  Along the way, I stopped at many grocery stores (they are quite numerous) buying the items I remembered I needed to make lemon lentil soup.

I made it back to campus safely and in plenty of time to get the soup made.  All prepared to cook, I rolled the desk chair into the kitchen to occasionally stir the soup and make sure it didn’t overflow.  I plugged in the computer to watch the 4th and final part of Shogun.  The computer wouldn’t come on.  Why?  That’s when I discovered the plug was broken!!!  No hope.  So, I switched gears and read a book while cooking.  (Always have a backup plan!)  Later, I’d find a power cord, surely, in electronically-advanced Japan.

The night was a fun celebration of Monica’s birthday  with some other school friends:(first at her apartment for cake) then  Karaoke, Japan-style.  And, that’s the style it should be since it started there!  A group rents a room (size of room just big enough for the group) with chairs closely placed around a small table with a big screen on the wall at the end of the table.  There are two microphones and two small stations with screens to que in your song choices.  We were given a book about the size of an Atlanta phone book.  Can you believe it was hard for me to find an English song that I knew?  Oh, no, you’re not surprised?  I did find Cotton Fields!!!  Go South. No one joined me on that song like they joined in on all the others.  Hmmmm….let’s see, one was from Australia, one from Sweden, one from Romania, one from Hawaii, one from California,  one from New Zealand, Corban who was too young to know it and me!!  No wonder.  Sorry I didn’t take pictures.  I forgot.  Guess we were having too much fun!

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in World Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts

