WORLD TRIP DAY 38-gmail calls, toothbrush and dinner


I guess I’m the only one who didn’t know about free phone calls on gmail!!!  But, when I did find out about them, I MADE THEM!!!  Corban was in class so I spent the morning and early afternoon talking to everyone in the US who was awake.  So enjoyable.  I finally decided to shower and dress (cleaning ladies were finished for sure).  Why I thought I had to keep my toothbrush in my hand when I reached behind the wardrobe to turn on the light, I’ll never know!  Well, it would be much easier to go to the campus store to buy a new one than to move the wardrobe to retrieve my dropped toothbrush!  (It WAS much easier.)

Night time brought one of the most delicious meals I have eaten on my travels.  Corban’s host parents took us out to have Yakineku (not sure of spelling).  There are a variety of restaurants who serve this type meal.  The one we went to uses real charcoal (instead of gas) in the little grill that is in the center of the table under the vent. A warm, damp cloth in a plastic bag was brought to each person when we were seated.  It seems that every place has some form of this, either foil-wrapped wipe or loose, damp cloth.  We (well, they) ordered plates of meat and vegetables.  Appetizers first.  Grilled each piece of meat and ate and ate and ate!!! The only thing I didn’t like was the fish (I think it was squid, a bit tough.)  I don’t know what the flavoring is but the meat was just fabulous!  After the meal, the host parents gave me gifts of tea sets and some REAL, good Japanese tea.  They represented Japan quite well and Corban is blessed to have them help him.  (Even if they did take him to a bath house!! Sorry I missed that.)

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in World Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts

