WORLD TRIP DAY 36-Sleep! cafeteria and homemade Vietnamese soup (and a movie!)


I think this traveling may finally be getting to me!!  I did get up and get dressed (shower and all) I walked down past a few school buildings to meet Corban to go to the cafeteria for lunch.  I was early.  (Wow!)  Just like a regular school cafeteria, we stood in line waiting to pick out our lunches.  Before the entree counter, I found the breads.  I hadn’t had any here so I took the big light colored roll. I knew I would taste it and give the rest to Corban.  I had to choose which counter to go to-curry line or other one (sorry can’t remember).  After being in India for two weeks, I can’t believe I chose the curry one.  I was after beef curry.  Corban went to the other line.  Now I’m trying to tell the little lunchroom ladies what I wanted and they are making an “x” with their fingers.  After some flubbed attempts by both sides, Boris, Corban’s friend from Belgium, walks up.  “Can I help you?”  It was that obvious!  He did and I ended up with chicken because what they were trying to tell me was they were out of beef!  We sat down with Boris, Ben, from Australia and someone from Geneva.  They all talked about their studies.

I tore off a piece of the roll to dip into the gravy for a taste.  What?  This was not a dinner roll.  It was melonpan.  Addiction!  Oh, I gave Corban a bite for him to taste, but that was it.

After lunch, Corban went back to class and I went to the room to work on my blog and fell asleep.  In fact, I think I slept most of the afternoon.  I was awakened when Corban and his Vietnamese friend, Ngoc had supper ready.  They had spent all afternoon cooking a very     

traditional soup from Vietnam.  The final step, which I was able to watch, was to dip the chopped meats, ladle-full by ladle-full, into the broth until it cooked.  The bowl is served up with flat noodles, topped with cooked beef, then cooked chicken with ginger slivers, then cooked bean sprouts, then fresh green onions.  After each  bowl is prepared, then the broth is added.  We ate in Corban’s “dining room.”

Having slept a lot this day, I wasn’t really ready to sleep at night!  I was able to find “Slumdog Millionaire” and watch it online.  If you haven’t seen it and want to almost experience being in India and understanding how life is there, watch  this movie!  It is so realistic!  The only thing missing is the smell!  I had seen it before but now appreciate it so much more.  Worth the watch.

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in World Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WORLD TRIP DAY 36-Sleep! cafeteria and homemade Vietnamese soup (and a movie!)

  1. Pingback: 40 Days of Soup: Day 35 – Pho | thebaronyork

Please share your thoughts

