WORLD TRIP DAY 32- A stealth shower and raw fish


I slept in until 9:30 which was actually 6:00 in India, so I’m thinking it doesn’t count!  I feel back asleep.  The plan was to go with Corban to the cafeteria at 12:00.  He had class at 1:00.  I wanted to avoid the cleaning ladies on the fifth floor (not sure if I’m supposed to stay overnight in Corban’s dorm room) and we thought they worked in the morning.  Wrong.  They were still up there at 11:45.  No way was I going anywhere without showering and washing my hair.  So I stayed in the bed…..and got served breakfast!  Corban cut up an apple and served me a glass of orange juice.  Great guy, that Corban!

Then, I slept a bit more, actually waiting to make sure the “coast was clear.”  It was.  I went up the stairs, found the showers and WOW!  They are so clean and the water pressure was fantastic.  The shower head is on the end of a hose and can be hung high or low.  (hum, wonder why?!!)  And, the high was plenty high for me! I felt refreshed and got to work on posting the last few days while Corban was in class.  Then at night we met with some of his classmates and walked into town to have sushi!  What an adventure.  The restaurant was a type of fast food sushi.  You sit at a booth next to a conveyer belt that is constantly carrying plates of the sushi dishes.  As they pass, if you want it, you take it.  You pay by the number of plates you use! There is a hot water dispenser at the table and a jar of tea powder to make your tea.  If there is something special you want, you order it by pushing buttons on a screed. If it is tall, it comes on a little train on a rail above and stops at your table.  You push a button to send the train back.  (sorry, I thought I got a picture of the cute little train.)  A container of shaved ginger was on the table to eat with or after your food to season the food or cleanse your palate.

I tried (and Corban sometimes ate half):

       

I was not the only one who enjoyed the sushi that night!

After we got back to campus there was a surprise birthday party in the lobby on the first floor for two students.  I got to meet and talk with a number of the students.  One was from England, daughter of an English father and Japanese mother.  A young man from South Island, New Zealand studying Japanese so he can be a musician booker between those two countries.  John (in middle in photo above) was from Hawaii and homeschooled his whole life until college!  He also speaks more languages than I could count as he named them off!  On the walk I got to talk with Boris (on the right in photo above) from Belgium.  He has been to every continent except Africa and is studying anthropology.  Well, I really need to go to sleep because tomorrow we are going to Kyoto, the capital of Japan for over 1000 years.

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in World Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WORLD TRIP DAY 32- A stealth shower and raw fish

  1. You could play a game of “Where in the World is Dea Irby” with all the neat places you’re visiting!

Please share your thoughts

