WORLD TRIP DAY 31-Fly to Osaka and “move into dorm”


All went according to plan.  Had a great aisle seat in the middle with no one beside me.  Slept a bit.  Landed in Hong Kong and was up and ready to hurry to next plane.  Made my way to the front of the plane, walked off, down the tunnel and asked the first staff person I saw where the connecting plane was.  He pointed back at the plane I had just gotten off!!!  Aaarrrggghhh.  I had to wait for everyone to get off the plane before I could get back on and into the same seat.  Bright-side: I made my connecting flight!

I watched a movie on the way to Osaka.  Claimed my baggage. Customs was a breeze (and has been so far, everywhere).  Exchanged some money.  Waited for Corban.  And….found free internet!  Yeah, and yeah again!!!!  I was able to skype with Tom and Melea, check facebook and email.  I was in heaven!  I was so engrossed with my computer, not looking around for Corban that I missed him and he had been waiting for 30 minutes.  He finally found me and we were off.  That is when I first found out how expensive Japan is.   The money I had exchanged would barely pay my train/bus ticket to get to his campus.  We got tickets and headed home.

On the way we stopped at Numba station. Each train station opens into what appears to be a mall area.  Japanese people love to shop.  Then we stepped out into city.  Culture shock!  It felt like Times Square.  So many restaurants with food displays, so little time to take all the pictures.  I did try my first Japanese dish from a street vendor: an “octopus ball” on a stick, a takoichi.  Inside the fried dumpling looking ball was, yes, octopus.  I rather liked it.

Corban found an ATM for me to get money out.  That was a better deal than exchanging the money I had brought!!!  Then we sat and had coffee and shared a muffin at a Starbuck’s kind of place.  Onto a bus, onto the campus, into the dorm, onto fourth floor (boys’ floor) and finally “home” for two weeks.  The girls’ floor is on the fifth where I go for shower and bathroom.  I think it is ok for me to be in Corban’s room.  Hoping it is better to ask forgiveness than permission, if it isn’t ok!  He has a great set up.  It is working for me.  I even got to do a load of laundry right across the long hall.

Later, Corban served me some delicious leftovers he had made at the little table in the short hall outside his room.  The other room on this little side hall is unoccupied so it makes the hall like another room!

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in World Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts

