WORLD TRIP DAY 25-Path down, visit with Nivedit, senior recital, start to Delhi…..


I don’t know if it will translate but I took pictures of the path all the way down.  After going a section, I’d stop and take a picture of where I had just been.  The first photo is of the door after I locked it.  Let’s see what you think:

  Maybe if you enlarge the second photo you can see the OKIE sign Bethany made out of found broken pottery.

                And then the end…  This took longer to upload the pictures than to actually walk the path.  And, no there are not any repeat pictures!  Maybe if you look at them from the bottom up you can pretend you are walking up the path!  (now that I have uploaded them all, I should have put them in reverse order for you!)  I had tea time at the tea garden outside Lyon’s Lounge then took a solo trek down to the beginning of the bazaar to visit with Nivedit.  She is a sweet and wonderful pastor’s wife who has opened a tea cafe as an opportunity for women in the church to work/sell their handmade crafts.  During the week the space is her gift shop and cafe; on Sunday, it is the church’s meeting place.  I thoroughly enjoyed talking “shop” with her.  Before she arrived, I had the pleasure of meeting and  talking with another Woodstock staffer,  Sabrina, another amazing young woman, from Canada, who impressed me with her Hindi.

I bought some Himalayan organic, handmade soaps (which can be purchased in The Baron York booth! at the mill as soon as I get back.)  Each bar is packaged in a handmade, recycled box and comes in a handmade cloth bag.  GREAT GIFTS!  I had to run down to an ATM to get some money out to pay for them and the Masala tea and Sprite I had.  It was only about a mile!  And, I only almost made one scooter wreck!  I heard the honk and zagged when I should have zigged!  While there, I had the opportunity to “tour” the kitchen.  I thought my cafe kitchen was small/challenging.  The first month there was no running water!!!  The “kitchen” in down a narrow stairwell.  The “oven” is a toaster oven from her home; the range, a two-burner butane stovetop.

After my visit, we hurried home to get ready for our trip to Darjeeling!!! (Bethany helped take down the second suitcase.  She had already taken down the other one that morning!) But not before we attended the senior recital, complete with Indian music!  How fun to listen to a sitar.  I was quite impressed with not only the variety of music but the talent, as well.

Himalayan soaps, Bethany being a “coolie”, Rakchira Shira (Bethany’s senior voice student) “Mist on the Mountain at Night” taken while waiting for our cab driver.         

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in World Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts

