WORLD TRIP DAY 24-Catch-up, India’s cleansing, awards, fellowship


I was awakened by “bunder thunder.”  *monkeys running on the roof, remember?)  I was a bit tempted to go outside and take pictures, but decided against it.  Who knows what the monkeys would have done?  After dressing in my new Indian outfit-a salwar suit (scarf: dupatta or chunni, pants: salwar, top: kurta), I went down to Lyon’s Lounge to do some catching up on my posts.

I joined in on the tea time.  Today’s menu was packaged cookies and treats (called “tuck.”)  I had to take a trip to the ladies room for my first experience of Indian cleansing!  My stomach had been rumbling all morning.  Bethany says it will not be the last.  I had toast for breakfast but not sure if I want anything else.  Here’s hoping it isn’t parasites.

I sat in on a history class Abe was teaching.  He and another music teacher were covering music trends from the ’50’s through till almost now.  Very interesting.  It is about time for another type of music to emerge.

The afternoon event was awards day.  Although I didn’t really know any of the students, I had been around enough to be happy for those awarded.  I am impressed with the level of academic achievements the student body has reached.  I had a “Harry Potter” moment when the “house” with the most points was announced.  It was only natural to make the connection since Woodstock is a boarding school.  The main reason I wanted to attend was to hear the faculty choir sing, led by Abe.  They were great!

I got a bit of reading done after the program and then it was up the hill home.  Well, really, it was up the hill and next door to the Wildman’s for fellowship with a few other staff people.  What a sweet time.  The food was good (sorry, forgot the camera) and study and prayer even better.  Bethany and Abe are blessed to have such wisdom surrounding them.

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in World Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts

