WORLD TRIP DAY 20-Casual Saturday, concert and party


The tri-plex where Abe and Bethany live was built over 160 years ago.  And it was built very well.  Last night we had a very loud thunderstorm, yet I felt safe and cozy.  Then in the morning I experienced another thunder.  They call it (hope I get this right) Bunder thunder!  A money is called a bunder and there was a “herd”, “crowd”, “passel” or whatever you call a bunch of ’em running across the tin roof overhead.  Loud.  Thunderous.  Great alarm clock.

(Got to skype with home today.  First time to talk with Tom and Melea since leaving Bosnia.  Josh has an Atlanta number for a house phone through some company and I could call home any time.  I got spoiled.  Maybe they did, too.)

Our day started with brunch on the patio with the Wildmans, tri-plex neighbors.  Bethany and Abe prepared a luscious meal of pancakes, fruit salad, and omelets.  Dot brought out some real Indian chai.  We visited for quite some time.  It was very pleasant.

Then Bethany and I got busy in the kitchen.  After tonight’s concert, the advanced choir was having a party at the Okies’.  To my surprise, to go along with the desserts we were making, Dominos pizza was ordered!  Four large, two cheese and two meats.  Again, an order was placed for groceries to be delivered but they wouldn’t get there until 4.  We needed a few of the items to make the food NOW.  So, Abe, bless his heart, went down to the bazazar to get those few things.  On to cooking!  We made peanut butter cups (homemade reeses, only they don’t have graham crackers so we used a different kind of cookie), lemon squares (only they don’t have just lemon juice, so we made lemon-lime squares) and buttermilk brownies (but they don’t have buttermilk so we made some….this is done by adding lemon juice to regular milk and letting it sit for 5 mintues.  Oh, wait, we don’t have lemon juice.  So, we made it with lemon lime juice.  It worked.)  Borrowed vanilla from the Wildmans’.  Thank you.

Bethany and Abe had to go early to the concert so I stayed, cleaned up the kitchen, got ready and went down.  It is healthy exercise.  Abe’s two choirs were first on the program.  The pizza was being delivered at the gate at 8:30.  I went down to meet the delivery guy and pay him.  The bill 2008.00 rupees.  It felt weird to hand him four 500 bills and a 100 bill and get change.  Then it was my job to take the pizza up the mountain to the house.  The rest of the concert was not going to be over until 9 or after.  It was my first solo climb up the walk.  I only made two wrong turns easily corrected and was not attacked by monkeys.  (I was assured they don’t attack at night.)  A great workout in the dark!  There are no “street lights” or even path lights.  I took very high steps since there are roots sticking up sometimes that can trip you.  There is a light outside the house so when I could see it I would “go to the light!”  I am relieved (so far) that the high altitude has not given me a headache (only a very weird, scary dream).  I can’t say the same for the potato chip bags!  They swell up tight and look packed with chips!

The students had a great time.  Abe had borrowed a Wii.  I think everyone took a turn at the dance game.  Even Abe and Bethany got onto the dance floor and they really boogied.  There are some very nice students here at Woodstock from all over the world.

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in World Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts

