WORLD TRIP DAY 19-Woodstock


(I will have to add pictures later, when I can use MY computer with the pictures on it at the teachers’ lounge, but thankful for Abe’s computer at home.)

Fortunately I was awake and about, although not dressed, when I heard a banging on the door.  A man with a large orange crate strapped to his back had groceries to deliver that had been ordered the day before while we were at the bazaar.  I knew someone was bringing them and guessed I should let him in.  Both sides of the door had to be opened to get him with the attached crate through.  I watched as the skilled man squatted slowly to rest the burden on the floor then carefully untie himself.  He handed me each item which I took to the kitchen.  Then as best I could I told him he’d be paid later.  Guess it worked, because he left.  I was just glad we didn’t have to bring the load up the mountain ourselves!

When I was dressed, I went down with Bethany to have lunch and then to her class.  First class, we went on a rhythm scavenger hunt, i.e. the beat of shoes walking, a broom swinging, people giggling.  Then we came back into the room and shared our finds.  With a 4/4 measure each person clapped the rhythm and eventually the whole class put it all together, adding one at a time.  Then taking one at a time away.  The students were impressed with themselves!  In the next class, she is working on a program about the history of Rock and Roll.  I helped the students with dialog while she worked with the choreography.  Fun times!  I was able to use my computer in the teachers’ lounge for a bit, then help with the next class.  Oh, then it was tea time! A break time for the teachers every morning and every afternoon.  Some also enjoy a quick game of pool while they are there!

Bethany and I ate at the lunchroom before the program.  It was an interesting experience.  They served flat bread, rice, fruit salad and three “dishes” of varying flavors and ingredients to eat with the rice and bread.  I also tried the “stuff” that was like a salsa but NOT!  I could not distinguish what the flavors were or seasonings were supposed to be.  Definitely salty and spicy.  Won’t have any of that again.

Friday night was the first of two nights of concerts.  Abe’s audition choir sang and then another choir of his.  Then different bands played.  Music is a large part of the instruction here.

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in World Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts

