WORLD TRIP DAY 10-alone on the town


After a day sitting in front of the computer (working on the cookbook), I HAD to get out and I did….alone.  It was easy to navigate the now-familiar streets.  Many people speak English; some more than others.  My first priority was to find a souvenir for Melea.  Too many choices!  (I can’t tell you what I got because she will read this.) Many of the shop owners create their wares. I captured one artisan in action.

I visited with Dzenana (a shop owner, concert pianist, singer, clothing designer, friend of Taylor, mom of Israel’s ballet friend….)

and had a cup of Bosnian coffee with her, met two of her customers-two high school girls getting their prom dresses.  According to the girls, Dzenana is better than Gucci!  It appeared so as I perused her creations.

 I took pictures of the historic mosque courtyard.  Some of the signage was interesting.  It is just across the street from, ready for this, Cafe Bill Gates!

I went to the Pekara (bakery) and bought the traditional roll with chocolate inside.  Taylor had pointed out this as their favorite place and I was able to find it. (See the green sign)  You go through a tunnel like place and turn the corner to a small window.  There was one other customer; he spoke English!  Yeah! The pastry is so fresh!

There is a Jewish Museum downtown.  After a few scattered attempts at getting directions, I found myself in front of a large “You are Here” poster of places of interest in the Old Town.  That still wasn’t enough.  Two girls were sitting near; I noticed them laughing.  Then, one, in perfect English, asked, “Do you need help?”  Duh?  The museum was right behind me.


For three marks I bought a ticket and went inside.  There were very interesting artifacts!  Can you say “ouch!”?

A display of an old Jewish pharmacy….

For the first time since I’ve been here, it was warm and sunny….until….I heard the thunder clap.  Suddenly it was raining.  What to do?  Well, it seemed like the perfect time to test all those desserts I’d been eyeing!  I have enough sense to come out of the rain, don’t I?   I got a to go box of a variety of pastries.  With a cappuccino, I sampled each.  Yes, I took home most of it!  They look a lot better than they taste (at least for the amount of calories you know you are eating!).  Then, just as suddenly, the rain stopped and left the cool air again.  Glad I had a sweater on.

I took random pictures of stores and people.

The Cafe To Be or Not To Be had their menu all in English, of course.

I had to get a picture of the Fast Food sandwich board in the middle of the path!

The Vegetarian Cafe also had their menu in English.

I had Taylor’s cell phone, just in case, and got a call to please go by the open market and pick up some fresh broccoli.  No problem!  It almost was a problem because I got there just as they were packing everything up.  Got talked into buying some fresh cherries, too.  He weighed them in an old balance scale.  Cool.  Glad I got them; they are delicious.

The day ended perfectly: 

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in World Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WORLD TRIP DAY 10-alone on the town

  1. Mackenzie says:

    What a happy day. I love reading about what you are doing and imagining you there. And imagining what Melea and Tom are having for dinner… : ) Love you. So glad you are having a well-deserved real vacation.

Please share your thoughts

