WORLD TRIP DAY 8-busy from morn til nite+


Day started with a brisk walk down the hill to the dp store for some tea bags before taking the kids to school.  Then I was dropped off at the coffee shops by the mall while Taylor had language class, to rejoin her in an hour at the double flags!  I discovered “diet sugar” while there and planned to buy some later when shopping! (which I did, yeah!)

We made a trip by a friend’s house whose husband works for the Embassy.  Next came the shopping at their version of super wal mart, only parking is underneath and the cart rides up a flat escalator.  Lunch was at the “cafeteria” restaurant.  So many choices, but I went simple.  A dab of each salad on the bar and a delicious bowl of chicken soup.

 The grocery store felt very familiar and had a large selection of most things necessary.  Oooops, too much fun sight seeing, time to pick the kids up.  We had to get home in time for me to start the batch of cinnamon rolls for Israel to take to her school in the morning.  A tradition that birthday people get to do!  Started those AND was able to get many pages done in the cookbook.  (Yes, I am still plugging along on it.  It will be done.)  Then ballet class for Israel and, while in town, I got to try a very traditional Bosnian dish (burak) for supper.  It had something like filo dough around the choice of stuffing, baked under coals.  I tried the hamburger and the spinach, served with sour cream.

I got a good picture of the “war monument,” a section of buildings destroyed during the recent war about which I read in The Cellist book.  Again, 9/11 comes to mind.  Only here, attacks lasted for four years!

It took longer than we thought for eating, so we ran all the blocks back to the ballet building!  Working off the food I just ate…aaaarrrrgggghhhh.  It was really too much to eat.  Met Josh with Elijah and we went to the “tea cafe.”  Had a very large cup of tea and shared a Nutella crepe.  Then walked home.  (at least I’m getting some exercise!)  Finished rolling out the cinnamon rolls and made an egg casserole to take tomorrow.  Read some in the book I brought. (I finished The Cellist of Sarajevo) Now, I’m working on this blog!  It takes me awhile to wind down to go to sleep!  I posted a video on facebook (don’t know how to post one on this blog) of a walk through town because you can hear in the background the haunting “call to prayer” that is sounded out five times a day from the 200 or so mosques in the city!  They each have their own song and don’t all start at the same time.  It mixes weirdly in the air.

Well, night all (even though most of you are six hours behind and just starting your night).  Got an early morning, waking and baking (and probably shaking!!!).

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in World Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts

