WORLD TRIP DAY 4-got my suitcase! walked to ballet and pizza, baked


Joshua was able to get my suitcase from the airport!  Now I know that I have to claim my baggage in Amsterdam to re-check it with the next airline (KLM).  Of course, I will need to do that anyway because I will have an overnight in Amsterdam since I’m visiting with our exchange students (Floor and Daphne) and exchange grandchildren!  I haven’t seen them in so long.  And side note: somehow, I didn’t have to go through customs so my vitamins were safe.

Taylor and Joshua had a meeting all day so I spent the morning (when I could stay awake) reading a book about the war in Sarajevo (1992-1995) called The Cellist of Sarajevo.  It is really a novel but helps me begin to understand what life was like with tanks and snipers surrounding the city on the mountains.  People tried to continue life not knowing if they’d be shot down in the streets!  There are still evidences of bombings, reminders of the losses.  At the bottom of the apartment stairs hangs a map that outlines the city with tanks all around.  A morbid picture.

The kids were brought home from school by a friend so I got to have Grandmarmee time!  For some reason Josh and Taylor didn’t think I could manage a taxi drive to the school to pick them up! Lunch was Nutella sandwiches (wonder why nap time was challenging!!??) made with fresh bread I sliced and they cut out with cookie cutters.  Fun!  They had so much fun making the shapes that they each ate way too many sandwiches!

Israel has ballet on Thursday evenings.  Taylor and I walked her into town….down a very steep brick hill, enjoyed a pizza dinner at outdoor tables decked out in red Coca Cola chair covers and umbrellas.  Pizza is served with ketchup because they don’t use much tomato sauce.  Although the ketchup is very runny it does add a bit of flavor.  We had water to drink, tap water that tasted fine.

I was able to take pictures of ballet class.  I can’t believe that Israel is challenged to learn a new skill while listening to instructions in a foreign language.  But, I think she is doing a great job!  While out I was also able to exchange some money….now for shopping…….

Josh asked if I’d bake something for their meeting in the morning.  “I’d love to.”  I have all my recipes on my computer so I searched for the right one.  What can I make that they have the ingredients for?  I finally decided on Cinnamon Oatmeal Raisin Bars. (the recipe can be found on the blog-2011/2/18.) (I wanted to make it the night before in case it didn’t work with all the substitutes and we’d have time in the morning to buy something!)  I had found some raisins while getting familiar with the kitchen.  Oooops, not enough.  But, wait, there were some prunes, I added those to the raisins.  Still not enough.  Oh, I’ll cut up the apples.  It took four small ones.  Now for cornstarch for the filling.  Ooops, no cornstarch.  Internet search revealed that 2 Tablespoons of flour can be substituted for 1 Tablespoon cornstarch.  It worked.  Brown sugar was demerara, deciphered the cinnamon by smell (it is spelled cimet) and made the oatmeal crust.  Baked in a smaller than called for pan in a 168 degree centigrade oven.  Would it work?  Had no powdered sugar to make the icing so I made it with granulated.  Not the best but it worked.  Basically, I made a version of apple brown betty in sandwich form!  I didn’t have to go out and buy pastries!

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in World Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts

