“Meeting Miss Irby”-my traveling companion and reading assignment


My son, Josh, is writing a book about a hero of Bosnia whose last name just happens to be the same as ours!  Actually, that’s what got him started.  Knowing that I’d have a long ride with lots of time, he emailed me a copy to proof on my journey.  So, I printed out the 145 page manuscript, got it bound and carried my traveling companion with me.      I was unaware of the pleasure of meeting my distant relative (by marriage).  My trip to Bosnia was adventurous in more ways than one.  This woman is such an inspiration, so self-sacrificing.  Her adventurous spirit brought her to the country she would rescue, the country I was traveling to on my adventure!  Today I got to take a picture of the sign of the street named after her.  It is in front of the building where she started a school.  It is illegal to take a picture of that.  Not wanting to be like Miss Irby and get arrested for being a spy, I resisted.  Of course, I’m not a spy, but then neither was she!  The book helped me understand more about the country and its people.  I am looking forward to publication day!

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in Journal Entry, World Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Meeting Miss Irby”-my traveling companion and reading assignment

  1. llamapacker says:

    I was at the book release in Sarajevo and got the English version. I have now finished reading it and was amazed at your ancestor, Miss Irby. What a woman of determination and love. No wonder she has a street named after her. She is someone that most have never heard about, but should. I wish the book good success. I am hoping Amazon will pick it up, so I can have friends have access to it.

Please share your thoughts

