WORLD TRIP DAYS 1, 2 & 3


Everything went according to plan, almost.  The trip was uneventful.  I had a nice person to sit next to, Ahmed, from Egypt, who is a photography buff.  He gave me a quick “camera” lesson.  When I got to Amsterdam, I asked many “blue” people if I needed to get my suitcase to take to B & H Airlines since I came in on Delta.

first "helping" person

Everyone told me to go to the gate for my flight and they would transport it.  Problem was the gate didn’t open until right before the flight….so, we’re calling every day until they find it and fly it to Sarajevo and deliver it to the house.

I knew I was in Amsterdam!  Gift shop was full of delft windmills and such.  Very large statues in the middle of the airport.

The B & H Airlines is quite small….the prop plane is boarded from the ground.  You get to the plane by bus!

And, they had a yummy snack!

Flight over the Alps

Josh and Taylor have a great apartment and I had a fun time playing with Israel and Elijah.  (Pictures taken with my panorama setting Ahmed showed me how to use.)

Today I walked with Josh into town to the mall, yes, I said mall!

We met Taylor there at the Torte i to Cafe where she was studying.  After a hot chocolate, we went to the preschool to get Israel and Elijah.   We were early so we went up the hill to the WWII monument.  The names of fallen soldiers from Bosnia are engraved on many walls and quotes of Tito, the communist leader, are also on walls.

The preschool, Waldorf, is one of the only ones that have outside play and activities.  With each activity they learn a song so I’m enjoying a Bosnian concert by my grandchildren as I type. They serve breakfast, lunch and snack (all prepared there!).  Half of the students are international; half, Bosnian.  It meets in one half of the lead teacher’s house.

Israel and friends

A roadside cafe named DEA!

One point of interest that grabbed my attention: a roadside cafe named DEA!  Yep!  Right there.

We visited the English library and met Shelby, a girl from Kansas, who is working for the summer as a sub. You have to buzz the door downstairs to get in!  Enjoyed free coffee and peanuts during our visit.

Random pictures of school    

school playground

Pippa, school friend from England

Gate to school

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in World Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts

