Cotton Patch Gospel (awesome)…after a crazy busy day.


Tonight Melea and I got a jump on Easter by going to see Habersham Community Theatre’s production of Tom Key’s Cotton Patch Gospel.  What a treat!  The show was well cast with a variety of great talent.  The simple but effective set made the choreography effective and entertaining.  Local musicians provided a foundation of toe-tapping bluegrass that enhanced the story.  At any moment, if the cast suddenly froze, a nice “stage picture” would would be created.  But, the best part of the evening was the presentation of the Gospel story.  With great compassion, the story of old was told in a refreshingly modern way.  Was Jesus really born in Gainesville, GA and lynched in Atlanta, GA?  No, but it certainly makes for an interesting angle.  Well worth the effort to attend, if there are any more tickets!  (runs Friday-Sunday, April 22-24, 29-30, May 1)

In other news!!!  Eleven days to go!  Went shopping today for more “requested items.”  Considered buying a 4-wheeler…suitcase, that is.  But decided to just go with the two wheeler I already have.  Tried on shoes but I HATE BUYING SHOES!!! So I didn’t get any for the trip, just have to go with what I have.

This was all after I took Melea to school, sat in the bank parking lot (waiting for it to open) and listened to one of Seth’s cd’s (really listening to all the words) and planned the order I needed to place for tea.  Then went to my other bank before the photo shoot at the Mauldin House gardens.  Six of the shop owners are being featured in an ad and we staged a tea party for the photo.  I, of course, brought the “props.”  Then off to my booth to price and display a new shipment of SCONE MIXES!!!  How about Lavender White Chocolate Scones?  Before I got to finish working on the facebook account for Art-Full Barn, or figure out what all needs to be done for it, Melea called and was finished with testing, school was over at 11:30.  Ran to pick her up, got back to the mill to work a little longer, then, as promised, took Melea to Sweet Breads for lunch.  Then we did our shopping.

Oh, after the fun shopping, we went to the grocery store to get food for our family Messianic Passover.  That done, we went home. Finally got the tea order placed online.  Then, while we waited to go to Cotton Patch, I prepared the cheroseth, carrot zimmes, chicken for matzo ball soup and matzo ball mix and boiled eggs.  Now I find out there will be more people Friday night, so, back to the store.  Guess the lamb I got  already will have to be enough!  Tomorrow I have someone picking up some of my poppy seed dressing!  She tasted it at the luncheon and wanted to get some!  Couldn’t wait for the cookbook…..

Ok, there’s a very freaky movie on while I’m typing this.  Don’t think I’ll be able to go to sleep…and I so need to.  Anyone seen Splice?

I’ll stop boring anyone who made it this far.  Talk to you later.

Got to go to bed.

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in Journal Entry. Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts

