Southwestern Beef Shells


I offered “Dinner by Design” for a while on the weekends.  I decided the menu and people made reservations for that meal.  In looking for dishes to offer, I found “Southwestern Beef Shells” from Roseann Lynn.  She was a close friend of my mom’s; her daughter, Kathy, was my sister’s best friend.  And, Roseann IS a great cook.  Thanks for the recipe, Roseann.

16 Jumbo shells

1 lb. ground beef

1 teaspoon oil

2 Tablespoons fresh cilantro

1 teaspoon dried oregano

2 Tablespoons green chilies, chopped

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

12 ozs. Monterey Jack cheese, shredded

24 oz. mild picante sauce (Pace)

Fresh cilantro and cheese for garnish

Cook shells in 3 qts boiling water for 12 minutes, drain and rinse in cold water.  Brown beef in oil over high heat.  Remove from heat and pour off grease.  Add all other ingredients exept sauce.  Place 1/4 cup sauce in bottom of 9 x 13 casserole.  Stuff shells with mix and place in dish.  Pour remaining sauce over top of shells. Cover and bake in preheated 375˚ oven for 30-35 minutes.  Serve shells with sprinkling of cilantro and cheese.  Toss salad and rolls complete this wonderful meal.

Roseann Lynn

A long-time, hometown friend and great cook

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Southwestern Beef Shells

  1. Hi Dea,

    I have your video up! Here’s the link to it. Feel free to embed it in a blog post. I would have had it up much sooner, but I came down with a virus and have been ill for almost two weeks. Glad I was able to film the video before I became sick!

Please share your thoughts

