Papaw’s Cornbread Dressing


Every Thanksgiving, as we begin our meal, I hold my breath.  Will I pass “inspection?”  I wait for the reaction of my husband’s first taste of the dressing.  His dad made the best in the world and I try to recreate it, wondering if I got the recipe right.  “Ummm, good.” I release my breath and take in another, relieved and thankful!

Here’s hoping I got it written down right for you:

1 recipe of cornbread (box of Jiffy cornbread mix or your own favorite recipe)

3 eggs, boiled and diced

1 onion, diced

3 stalks of celery, diced

1 can chicken broth

1 can cream of mushroom soup

Turkey giblets, neck, etc. (stuff in the package that is packed inside the whole turkey!)

Olive oil

Garlic

Bay leaf

Salt and pepper to taste

Optional ingredients: nuts (chestnuts or walnuts), craisins, and/or sautéed mushrooms.

Preheat oven to 350˚

 

Make cornbread the day before (if you think of it).  Leave out to dry a bit.  Boil eggs.

Boil turkey “parts” in saucepan of enough water with a bay leaf, celery tops and salt until meat falls off neck bones.  Debone and/or dice meat.

Sauté onion and celery in oil with garlic until onion is clear.

Into a roasting pan, crumble cornbread and add diced eggs and sautéed vegetables.  Then, add chicken broth, mushroom soup, giblets, salt and pepper.  Add additional broth from saucepan of boiled turkey, if needed.  The mixture should be very moist.

Place in preheated oven and bake, uncovered, until toasty brown, about 30 minutes.

 

 

 

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts

