Aunt Mary’s Lemon Icebox Pie


On my way home from my MS jewelry tour I had the pleasure of staying and visiting with my Aunt Mary.  What a crackerjack box…..love this lady. (By cracker box I mean fun, sweet and always full of surprises) I was offered her delicious lemon icebox pie, which I devoured (just a slice, not the whole thing, even though I wanted to) and then got the recipe, which I will share with you now.

3 eggs

1/2 cup lemon juice (can be real bottled)

1 can  sweetened condensed milk

1 graham cracker crust

6 tablespoons sugar, (two per egg white)

Separate the yolks from the egg whites.  Beat the yolks.  Add sweetened condensed milk and mix.  Add lemon juice then “whip it all up good together.”  Pour into pie crust.  With egg whites at room temperature, beat and slowly add 6 tablespoons of sugar until peaky. Pour over pie.

Bake in 350˚ oven until meringue looks tan, slightly brown.  About 15 minutes “but keep an eye on it.”

Now this recipe calls for three eggs, however, it can be made with two.  I know this because my Aunt Mary and her sister Elizabeth have discussed how many eggs to use.  After convincing each other each was right, they have switched versions and both work!  However, more meringue is made with three egg whites.

Solving meringue problems Aunt Mary’s way:

1) use room temperature egg whites (this can be achieved by pouring boiling water into a bowl to heat the bowl, then pouring out the water and putting in the egg whites to sit for awhile)

2) add granulated sugar very slowly

3) when you pour the meringue onto the pie, “anchor” it to the crust by making sure it touches the crust all around

4) “make sure there is no grease on anything that touches the egg whites”

“ ”s are Aunt Mary’s very words!

Enjoy!

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts

