Lick it or be licked!!!


So my cell phone stopped turning on unless I licked the battery!  Hummm, time to get a new phone, I’m thinking.  I I was on my way from GA to MS.  Since I spent the night in Douglasville, woke up earlier than expected and gained an hour, it looked like I’d be in Yazoo City, north of Jackson in plenty of time.  I held out for the McDonald’s at the second Bessemer exit to use the wifi and post to the blog (and use their facilities!!!)  Finally got there, pulled off the interstate only to find there was no McDonald’s…operating, that is.  A new one was under construction.  Back on the road, hunting for a wifi McDonald’s.  Found!  Just to make sure of wifi, I drove by the take out window to ask.  Yes.  My phone needed charging so I took it in to plug in.  (I would have used my power strip that plugs into the AC adapter but it wasn’t working.)  While the phone was charging (behind the counter because they didn’t have an outlet in the seating area) I was trying to connect to the web and create a post.  No matter what I did, the McDonald’s connection was never a choice of networks.  The ladies suggested I go to the Starbucks across the way.  Thanks.  So, I packed up the computer, got my phone and headed across the way.  Didn’t find the Starbucks (which I later was told was in the Publix grocery store) but I did find an AT & T store.  I was sure it was time to upgrade and I was tired of licking the battery, sooooooo, into ATT I went.  I got to plug in my computer and use their wireless connection AND found out about a superfluous charge on my account which I cancelled!!!  Then, I got an IPhone….no more licking!  Or so I thought.  Little did I  know, I was going to be licked.  After he saved my contacts and activated my sim card, I was on the road again.  The phone rang, my jazzy new tone, I answered.  Aww, how do I turn up the volume, I can barely hear!  I made it through the conversation, but then my screen on my NEW phone went haywire!  Stripes of color then just stripes of white and grey.  I hit the home button and got nothing!  Now, I’m driving down the road with no ability to communicate.  I stopped at the Mississippi welcome center to find a map for the nearest ATT.  They had wifi!  Got the address and number (not that I could call it) of the ATT store and was on my way.  I couldn’t plug in my GPS because the power strip was dead-remember.  In Meridian, MS there is a one way frontage road that I needed to go down the other way, so after circling the interstate and stopping to get directions to the ATT store from the cellularsouth store!, I got to my destination.  AND, I was told that they could not exchange it.  I had to take it to an Apple store.  And where is that?  North of Jackson….two more hours.  Would he please get the sim card out of the not working Iphone and return it to my original to-go phone? He did.  Now, my recently charged phone would not turn on for him!  “Is it dead?” he asked.  I don’t think so, I just charged it, but I’ll get the charger so we can see.  After a frantic search of the car and all my bags, I realized I had left the charger at McDonald’s!  AAAARRRRGGGGHHHH!  So, I could get a to-go phone from them and return it after I get my new Iphone.  What?  A $35 restock fee for a $15 phone!!!  It was going to be $10 to restock the Iphone if I decided I didn’t want it.  Well, Wal Mart is just up the hill.  I got a fuse for the car so the ac adapter would work and bought another to-go phone (that I took to the garden department to cut open) and switched the sim card.  Replaced the fuse so the ac plug would work.  Plugged in the phone to charge while I was driving.  Turned it on and NO CONTACTS on the sim card which had supposedly been transferred!!!  Unless someone called me, I wasn’t talking with anyone.  I don’t have any numbers memorized!

I’m sitting in the Apple store right now waiting for my new phone!  Will the contacts transfer from the original sim card?  Hope so.

Did I lick this phone thing or was I licked!

I licked it….I won!  Yeah me.  I’ve got contacts.

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in Journal Entry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts

