One-Eyed Jack Salsa


Here’s another recipe: One-Eyed Jack Salsa

This is a great, refreshing tailgate party dish that serves up well with blue corn chips and can be made days ahead.

Combine the following in a container with a lid to store in the refrigerator for at least 12 hours before serving,

2 (15 oz) cans of black-eyed peas and peppers
1 whole red onion, finely diced
3 bell peppers (red, green, yellow) finely diced
1 to 2 Tablespoons minced garlic
½ cup sugar
½ cup vinegar (apple cider or your choice)
½ cup vegetable oil (not olive oil)
1 teaspoon salt
Dash black pepper
Dash (or more) of hot sauce

I just finished making a new batch so I thought I’d share the recipe. This keeps a long time. Make it as spicy as you want by the amount of Hot Sauce!
Had a great day today at work…..forever….until I went to the basketball game and kept the books. Melea played great tonight….9 points.
During work I made two quick errand-runs. The first was to the Old Clarkesville Mill to check out my floor space and plan the painting of the floor on Sunday. Sarah Nelms is going to help me paint an oriental rug in my space. I also was checking out the kitchen for use with catering. That was a quick, easy trip. A bit later I was on my way to get my broken nail repaired (yes, I have FAKE nails, but they really look natural. It is a business expense with my Premier jewelry business.) Anyway, on the way to get that fixed, I was sucking on a little hard candy and suddenly there were two pieces in my mouth….or so I thought. Wait, I didn’t bite it into parts. AAaaahhh, that’s, uuuhhhmm, that’s not candy. My back lower crown had popped off! About this time I got a call from Melea who needed to be picked up…now what did I do with my clone? Tried to get in touch with dad to get Melea. Not available. Could I get my nail repaired, my tooth re-crowned AND pick up Melea in 25 minutes? I’m thinking not. Finally got in touch with Tom who was able to pick her up before the clock started ticking on over-time which cost money. Well, it is already tomorrow again…got another exciting day at work. Better go home so I can come back early and finish cooking everything.

Just want to share a few beautiful faces from today…..

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in Journal Entry, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts

