T minus 12 and counting


Seems like time is really, really flying. I guess because it is. Today was very full, another bitter sweet day. I am so glad to get to see my customers but it is sad to say goodbye. I had another special “tea lady” come in today. She is a student of tea and has enjoyed my Tea 101 class (she is on the front page of the website). For Nancy, it is not so far to drive all the way from Atlanta! I took more orders for cookbooks, yeah, but I wasn’t able to type up any more. It is almost tomorrow as I type this. I’m still at the cafe washing dishes and cleaning up. Just made a pot of dilled potato soup. I got a call for reservations for tomorrow and a request for this soup. It always scares me a little when people request their favorite soup that I make. Why? Because I make them up and don’t remember how I did it. Even if I have a recipe, I don’t follow it. Ironic that I’m writing a recipe book! 🙂 Well, since I just made the soup I need to take a break, go type it into the book, copy and paste it here…be right back…tomorrow, unless it takes me less than 15 minutes to type…..see ya…ok, I’m back and, yep, it’s tomorrow (midnight-thirty). So here’s the recipe, as best I can tell it:

Dilled Potato Soup

Some potatoes, peeled, diced

Generous amount of butter

Big blob of cream cheese

Enough milk and/or sour cream

Plenty of dill, fresh or dried

A dash of dried instant potato flakes (if needed)

Salt

 

Place potatoes in medium saucepan and cover with water, add salt.  Boil until tender, about 20 minutes. (pierce with fork to test doneness).  Drain most of the water, but not all.  Add cream cheese and  butter and stir to melt. Then, add dill and some milk and/or sour cream.  Adjust consistency (add more milk to thin or dried instant potato flakes to thicken.)

This soup is yet another creation that a customer suggested.  She just mentioned that she loved to make dilled potato soup.  That’s about all I remember her saying. So, “how should one make this soup?” I mused. Well, start with potatoes, of course.  They need to be cooked, so I figured, “boil them with salt.”  Adding the salt while boiling allows the potatoes (or anything else) to fully absorb the flavor.  To make it creamy, I turned to my all-time fav: cream cheese and for another level of essence, real butter.  (This dish would not be on the “low fat diet!”)  To thin to a soup consistency, add milk.  If you add too much milk, then add some dried instant potato flakes. (Been there, done that.)

I can’t remember which customer made this suggestion or if she was a one-time passing-through visitor, but I’d love to tell her the dilled potato soup has been one of the most requested.

 

 

 

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
This entry was posted in Journal Entry, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to T minus 12 and counting

  1. Dr. Judy C. Forbes says:

    Dea, I just want to say that you will be missed. Your special tea, the beautiful tea room, the special tea parties you staged for my granddaughters, and the delicious food were part of Clarkesville’s fabric. Enjoy your “new life”!

Please share your thoughts

