The Skinny Sunday Stroll


The eyebrow pathSkinny stroll? Because it was so exerting that you lost weight? Only if you did it many times over many days would it be a weight plan. The “skinny” refers to the thin pathway along the mountain up to visit Tara, Bethany and Abe’s doula (their helper for the birth of Caroline). In the cool of the afternoon, we trekked up to deliver thank you gifts and visit with the Woodstock staff family. I was not quite prepared for the precarious unknown but followed faithfully stepping in rhythm with Bethany who had Caroline strapped in the front carrier and Abe who led the way. (If I’m totally honest, I really struggled with the challenge, fearing I’d lose my balance and tumble into the green abyss that was inches away!)

We found evidence that monsoon was going to be over soon, maybe within a couple of weeks. The ferns begin to turn brown and the kernels on a plant (that I don’t know the name of) begin to turn red.

brown ferns

red kernels

Can you see the brown ferns?

Rock slides caused by the monsoon made some areas of the path a bit scary. We even had to walk over a pile that covered the path. Take a stroll with me:

DSCF6622 DSCF6621 DSCF6618 DSCF6617It was a bit slippery in places since it had rained earlier in the day. The moss also made some areas slimy. On occasion there was some sort of railing to grab onto for security. Bethany would sometimes hold on to Abe’s backpack for a bit of help although she managed quite well.

DSCF6613DSCF6614DSCF6610

The umbrella was a welcomed walking stick. It seemed to take about thirty minutes to walk up, but I don’t think it was more than 15. 

When we set out, I had no idea what the path before us was like. I trusted my guides. Surely I could make it if my baby-toting daughter could manage. I didn’t have the choice of turning back and this was really the only reasonable path. Any other way to Tara’s was so much longer.

Life Thoughts

All I kept thinking was, take the next careful step, you can’t quit! Don’t think about failure/falling off the side of the mountain!  To take my mind off the potential plunge to my death, I starting thinking about how this was a great picture of what life is like. Where’s the adventure if you don’t take risks? And, once you begin the adventure, don’t quit. Just take the next step. There is a reward at the end of this trek.

DSCF6623

We had a wonderful time visiting with Tara and her family. She and her husband have three children, one off at college and two students at Woodstock. What a delight!

The walk back down passed quickly, although we walked slower and more carefully because more accidents reportedly happen on the way down while hiking.

DSCF6624

The only casualty for the day…..as I was so focused on the ground right in front of me, stepping into Bethany’s footprints, I didn’t see the tree trunk protruding into the path at my head height. Bam! (Don’t you just hate it when that happens? Like running into an open kitchen cabinet door!) But, I didn’t lose my balance, yeah, and made it safely home, all the wiser for the trip.

The view was hidden in the clouds but I’ll share a few pictures anyway. You can use your imagination to fill in the rest…..

DSCF6611

Woodstock School in the distance

DSCF6625 DSCF6620 DSCF6616 DSCF6615 brown ferns DSCF6608

About deairby

From a small Mississippi town and have lived my adult life in the south. I am the wife of Tom Irby since 1974, mother of 8, grandmother of 8, lover of Truth, previous owner of The Baron York Tea Room Cafe and Gift Shop (7 years), cookbook writer, moderator of the Small Business forum on Social Media Examiner, enjoy life and all the adventure God brings my way.
Gallery | This entry was posted in World Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Skinny Sunday Stroll

  1. pamasaurus says:

    Gorgeous photos!

    I went hiking a few weeks ago, and ended up on a similar trail. It’s scary but amazing all at once!

  2. Jane Ferguson says:

    Gracious, Dea! What a beautiful, yet fearful scene. You are a better woman than I would be.

Please share your thoughts

